Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #96: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys


"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where we spotlight upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. 


Expected publication: February 9th 2016
by Philomel Books
This week the book I am waiting on is Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. It's not due out until February 2016, but as soon as I heard about it, I had to add it to my TBR list. 

Synopsis from Goodreads.com: 

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity.

Why am I waiting on it? Ruta Sepetys other books have gotten rave reviews. Shades of Gray received awards. My brother and mother both read it and raved over it. I think that Salt to the Sea will be a great introduction for me to her writing. It doesn't mention it in this synopsis, but she is also supposed to fit in the Amber Room mystery into this book. That particular mystery I find fascinating. So, award winning writer, great disaster, and great mystery seem like they will blend together to make a really good book.

What book are you waiting on this week? Share it or a link in the comments so we can check it out. Happy Reading!