Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Can't Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday #393: Under Lock & Skeleton Key by Gigi Pandian

 



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that had been hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where we spotlighted upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. I'm now linking up with Can't Wait Wednesday hosted over at Wishful Endings.

From the publisher:

Known for her wonderfully addictive characters, multiple award-winning author Gigi Pandian introduces her newest heroine in this heartfelt series debut. Under Lock & Skeleton Key layers stunning architecture with mouthwatering food in an ode to classic locked-room mysteries that will leave readers enchanted.

An impossible crime. A family legacy. The intrigue of hidden rooms and secret staircases.

After a disastrous accident derails Tempest Raj’s career, and life, she heads back to her childhood home in California to comfort herself with her grandfather’s Indian home-cooked meals. Though she resists, every day brings her closer to the inevitable: working for her father’s company. Secret Staircase Construction specializes in bringing the magic of childhood to all by transforming clients’ homes with sliding bookcases, intricate locks, backyard treehouses, and hidden reading nooks.

When Tempest visits her dad’s latest renovation project, her former stage double is discovered dead inside a wall that’s supposedly been sealed for more than a century. Fearing she was the intended victim, it’s up to Tempest to solve this seemingly impossible crime. But as she delves further into the mystery, Tempest can’t help but wonder if the Raj family curse that’s plagued her family for generations—something she used to swear didn’t exist—has finally come for her.

Under Lock & Skeleton Key by Gigi Pandian is expected out March 22nd, 2022 from Minotaur Books.

Why am I waiting on this book? I like other titles that this author has written. And I enjoy a good locked room mystery. Gigi Pandian has written a few and they are always good. 

What book are you waiting on this week? Share it or a link in the comments so we can check it out and maybe add it to our TBR lists. Thanks for coming by and Happy Reading!

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Teaser Tuesday: The Orphan Witch by Paige Crutcher

 


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Purplebooker.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
 Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
 BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title and author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Mary Miller, the foster mother who almost adopted Persephone, once told her expectations were the road to resentment, and Persephone couldn't have agreed more. However, Mary Miller wasn't under a time crunch to break a curse. (20% through on my Kindle)

The Orphan Witch by Paige Crutcher was published September 28th, 2021 by St. Martin's Griffin.

Would you keep reading? What's your teaser this week? Share it or a link in the comments. Are you enjoying your book? Let us know! Happy Reading!

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

Can't Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday #392: The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

 



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that had been hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where we spotlighted upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. I'm now linking up with Can't Wait Wednesday hosted over at Wishful Endings.


From the publisher: 

In every person's story, there is something to hide...

The ornate reading room at the Boston Public Library is quiet, until the tranquility is shattered by a woman's terrified scream. Security guards take charge immediately, instructing everyone inside to stay put until the threat is identified and contained. While they wait for the all-clear, four strangers, who'd happened to sit at the same table, pass the time in conversation and friendships are struck. Each has his or her own reasons for being in the reading room that morning—it just happens that one is a murderer.

Award-winning author Sulari Gentill delivers a sharply thrilling read with THE WOMAN IN THE LIBRARY, an unexpectedly twisty literary adventure that examines the complicated nature of friendship and shows us that words can be the most treacherous weapons of all.

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill is expected to be published May 10th, 2022 by Poisoned Pen Press.

Why am I waiting on this book? I love books set in libraries or bookstores. And I can easily see people sharing a table becoming friends. But, what do you do when one of you is a murderer?

What book are you waiting on this week? Share it or a link in the comments so we can check it out and maybe add it to our TBR lists. Thanks for coming by and Happy Reading!

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Teaser Tuesday: Lyin' Eyes by Julie Mulhern

 


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Purplebooker.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
 Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
 BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title and author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I parked in front of the house and sat in the car without moving. My thoughts were a jumble, and I rested my head against the seat back and squeezed my eyes shut. Part of me mourned the dead women—they’d lost their lives, they deserved justice. Another more selfish part screamed why me? What karmic scale had I tipped to become a body magnet? And how could I adjust the weights so someone else found the bodies? (p. 9)

Lyin'  Eyes by Julie Mulhern was published September 28th, 2021 by J & M Press.

Would you keep reading? What's your teaser this week? Share it or a link in the comments. Are you enjoying your book? Let us know! Happy Reading!

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

Can't Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday #391: Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century by Kim Fu

 


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that had been hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where we spotlighted upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. I'm now linking up with Can't Wait Wednesday hosted over at Wishful Endings.

From the publisher:

dazzling and daring story collection by PEN/Hemingway finalist, Kim Fu.

In the twelve unforgettable tales of Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century, the strange is made familiar and the familiar strange, such that a girl growing wings on her legs feels like an ordinary rite of passage, while a bug-infested house becomes an impossible, Kafkaesque nightmare. Each story builds a new world all its own: a group of children steal a haunted doll; a runaway bride encounters a sea monster; a vendor sells toy boxes that seemingly control the passage of time; an insomniac is seduced by the Sandman. These visions of modern life wrestle with themes of death and technological consequence, guilt and sexuality, and unmask the contradictions that exist within all of us.

Mesmerizing, electric, and wholly original, Kim Fu’s Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century blurs the boundaries of the real and fantastic, offering intricate and surprising insights into human nature.

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century by Kim Fu is expected to be published February 1st, 2022 by Tin House. 

Why am I waiting on this book? It sounds like the stories are very original and imaginative. I'm particularly intrigued by the story with the bug infestation that is kafkaesque. 

What book are you waiting on this week? Share it or a link in the comments so we can check it out and maybe add it to our TBR lists. Thanks for coming by and Happy Reading!

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Teaser Tuesday: The Orphan Witch by Paige Crutcher

 


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Purplebooker.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
 Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
 BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title and author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


So even as she remained steadfast in her search for answers, Persephone May stayed lost.
And a lost thing is always waiting to be found. (2% through on my Kindle)

The Orphan Witch by Paige Crutcher was published September 28th, 2021 by St. Martin's Griffin.

Would you keep reading? What's your teaser this week? Share it or a link in the comments. Are you enjoying your book? Let us know! Happy Reading!

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Can't Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday #390: A Dead End Job by Justin Alcala

 


Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly event that had been hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where we spotlighted upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. I'm now linking up with "Can't-Wait Wednesday" hosted over at Wishful Endings.

From the publisher:

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Shane Kuhn’s THE INTERN’S HANDBOOK will love this noir supernatural thriller.
Death needs a vacation. Badly. But there’s a catch: There are people who cheat the system, always falling through the cracks and not dying like they’re supposed to. Who’s going to take care of them while Death’s sipping on sangria?

The answer is simple: Death needs an intern, and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that one prospect, Buck Palasinksia—a bankrupt hitman with a roleplaying addiction—might have what it takes. While scoping out his next target, Buck gets drilled in the forehead by a bullet and falls right into Death’s lap.

If they shove him back into his body, he’ll have a few weeks to prove that he has what it takes to be Death’s right-hand.

All he has to do is take out Public Enemy No. 1, John Dillinger, and quit smoking.

A Dead End Job by Justin Alcala is expected out October 5th, 2021 from The Parliament House.

Why am I waiting on this book? I'm intrigued that they think this book will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett. Death is one of my favorites in the Discworld series. I'm wondering how this Death will come across. And I'm hoping his intern will prove to be a success. It does sound like it could be a fun read.

What book are you waiting on this week? Share it or a link in the comments so we can check it out and maybe add it to our TBR lists. Thanks for coming by and Happy Reading!